Stranger Danger

Hallllllo!
Today I’m going to chat about something a little weird.

So. Today I was shopping at walmart… About 11 PM, in a little bit rougher part of town. Usually, I am no fear, all piss and vinegar. You can’t usually knock me down. Well, today as I walked in a police officer stopped me. He said, “Ma’am, are you shopping with your husband today?” “Uh, no. I’m not married.” I said as I showed him my ringless finger. The officer then said “Ma’am, I don’t advise you to shop alone here, miss. Especially like that.” “Uh? I’m confused. Why’s that?” I replied, taken aback. (I mean, I 5’8 and curvy and I was wearing a tank top and maxi skirt. But seriously? Nothing attractive going on here) And the officer leaned in and whispered, “Well, this isn’t really a safe environment for young women like you. You might want to choose somewhere a little different than here. Some men here may not be able to control themselves because of your appearance” Okay, HOLD UP. I’m not any more attractive than any other woman in that store, but since I was wearing a lower cut shirt and skirt, he was legitimately WORRIED FOR MY SAFETY. I’m so sorry if you disagree but HOLY CRAP. HOW IS IT THAT WE CAN ALLOW THIS. I shouldn’t have people fretting over my safety because apparently some men can’t handle themselves. Guh.

Anyone else have some thoughts on this?

Well, thanks for letting me vent!

Cheers loves,

G.

Leave a comment